Hornblower was the umbrella title of a series of television drama programmes based on C. S. Forester’s novels about the fictional character Horatio Hornblower, a Royal Naval officer during the French Revolutionary Wars and the Napoleonic Wars. The series stars Ioan Gruffudd in the title role and is produced by the British broadcaster Meridian Television, and shown on ITV in the UK and A&E Television Networks in the US. In September 2009, ABC2 started broadcasting a rerun of the series in Australia.

The series consists of eight made-for-television movies, which are notable for their high production values. All were later released on DVD. In the US, the series was retitled Horatio Hornblower, and some of the episodes were known by different titles. The eight movies cover the events of just three novels (Mr. Midshipman Hornblower, Lieutenant Hornblower, and Hornblower and the Hotspur), and various alterations and additions are made to the source material.
Philip played Hobbs.

Created by C. S. Forester (stories and characters). Cast: Ioan Gruffudd, Robert Lindsay, Paul McGann, Paul Copley, Sean Gilder, Philip Glenister, Jamie Bamber. Director Andrew Grieve Producers: Meridian Broadcasting for ITV 1998-2003